Venture Moloch Designs

Greetings MolochDAO! :space_invader: Ross Campbell here from OpenLaw and other stuff.

I have been following Moloch’s most recent proposed “v2 upgrades” with keen interest - :mag_right:

Specifically, I am studying the Moloch code for a fork more attuned to investing rather than pure grant-making, with ‘The LAO’ as a proposed model to launch with a limited liability proxy (brief overview of ‘vmLAO’ extensions here).

As different groups w/n and outside of Moloch DAO refine specifications for Solidity that would support a variety of fundraising requirements (multi-token support, more advanced withdrawals to realize profits, etc.), I thought it would be highly worthwhile to start a thread here and kick things around, scope out different implementations of Moloch v2 (I imagine different business plans might entail tailoring, but yeah, this is exactly the kinda stuff I want to field…).

Among my initial design decisions in vmLAO:

• Removed proposal deposit/fee mechanism: this feels unfamiliar to venture funds, and not sure if friction is worthwhile where we might have membership agreements and also adopt a form of ‘guild kick’ - lemme know what you think! (lkwyt)

• Support multiple token types: I basically wanted a lightweight way to push token exchange into proposal mechanism (so, proposals might entail funding, membership, or hybrid request). Still not settled on if membership and voting proposals should be separate tracks, but I like having familiar voting setup from Moloch, with minor tweak to allow tribute tokens to be any token, modest value tracking, and a base ‘contribution token’ to reflect member economics - lkwyt